Aakash explains what makes Mumbai Indians so special in IPL.

Rohit Sharma

The most successful franchise in IPL; Mumbai Indians won IPL four times. In the last 8 years; every odd numbered year has been Mumbai Indians’ yard. On his YouTube channel; one of the most coveted pundits and cricket commentator; Aakash Chopra explained what makes MI so special and successful.

Before analyzing Mumbai Indians; he praised Reliance(owners of MI) for finding success formula for Mumbai Indians.

He stated that; in initial years (2008,2009); they had very big-names like Tendulkar, Harbhajan Singh, but failed to perform. He labelled MI’s performance in first two years as below par. The factor being that young players don’t get chances in MI.

But things started to change from 2010 for Mumbai; according to Aakash. They started to give opportunities to youngsters.

Talking about MI’s auction strategy; he said, “MI plans their auction exceptionally well. They spend a lot in youth. They are the only team in IPL; which wins half of the IPL in the auction-table.”

He also praised Mumbai due to the following factors:

  • They don’t need any one player to win match(even it is Rohit Sharma). They have enormous depth to cover everyone.
  • They have a very well funded research team; which finds out best youth players for them. For ex- Kieron Pollard, Pandya Brothers, Jasprit Bumrah.
  • They give a lot of chances to youngsters.
  • Aakash stated MI is the only reason why India has Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya.
  • They have a very good staff.
  • MI is very loyal to their players.
  • And most importantly; he praised how Rohit Sharma was chosen and groomed for the role of captaincy at Mumbai Indians.

Mumbai Indians’ squad for IPL 2020.

The IPL is set to kick-off from September 19. Here’s the complete squad of Mumbai Indians:

Rohit Sharma(C), Sherfane Rutherford, Suryakumar Yadav, Anmolpreet Singh, Chris Lynn,Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Anukul Roy, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Ishan Kishan, Quinton de Kock, Aditya Tare,Saurabh Tiwary, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga, Mitchell McClenaghan, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Mohsin Khan, Prince Balwant Rai Singh, Digvijay Deshmukh, Hardik Pandya, Jayant Yadav.

 Mumbai Indians will be defending their title; and vowing to prove their haters wrong who claim that MI only win in alternate years.

Thanks guys for visiting. Stay tuned for latest updates. Cricket for life!!!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *