Know about a new format in Cricket: 3 team cricket (3TC).

AB De Villiers, captain of Eagles in 3 team Cricket

Yes, you read right. A new-format of Cricket is on the cards. From Test Cricket to ODIs; from ODIs to T20s and T10s. Now, we are all set to see a brand new format of Cricket i.e. 3 team cricket.

In 3TC, three teams will square off and compete against each other at the same time, in the same match. This brand new format is introduced by Cricket South Africa. The first 3TC match will be played on June 27.

Here are the Tweets:

All you need to know:

Date and Time: June 27 and at 2:30 pm IST.

Venue:  SuperSport Park in Centurion on 27 June.

Teams: KG’s Kingfishers, Quinny’s Kites and AB’s Eagles.

The best cricketers from South Africa will be part of the match, titled the ‘Solidarity Cup’. The match will be a fundraiser for the cricket community; who have suffered due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The idea of 3TC came from Paul Harris, Graeme Smith and Mark Boucher.

Squads of Teams:

(Note: Each team will have 8 players only.)

Quinny’s Kites: Quinton de Kock (c), David Miller, Temba Bavuma, Anrich Nortje, Dwayne Pretorius, Beuran Hendricks, JJ Smuts, Lutho Sipamla.

KG’s Kingfishers: Kagiso Rabada (c), Faf du Plessis, Chris Morris, Tabraiz Shamsi, Reeza Hendricks, Janneman Malan, Heinrich Klaasen, Glenton Stuurman.

AB’s Eagles: AB de Villiers (c), Aiden Markram, Lungi Ngidi, Andile, Phehlukwayo, Rassie van der Dussen, Junior Dala, Kyle Verreynne, Sisanda Magala.


  • Three teams having eight players each. 36 overs constitute the entire game.
  • There are three phases in the game – Batting, bowling and dugout.
  • Two halves in this format – 18 overs each. Every team will bat for six overs in one half. The starting positions for these phases will be decided by a draw i.e. which team bats first, bowls first or is in the dugout first. Teams will rotate from batting to bowling to dugout based on the draw.
  •  In the second half, teams bat in order of the highest scores in the first half. If scores are tied, the first half order is reversed.
  • A bowler can bowl a maximum of three overs in the entire game; i.e. a bowler from team A can bowl all his three overs against team B and none against team C or can split it up with one and two overs against either side.  An uncompleted over due to the fall of the 7th wicket is deemed to be completed with dot balls.
  • If the 7th wicket falls in the first half, the team forfeits the remaining overs or balls in that particular half. The last batter resumes the innings in the second half.
  • Standard white-ball rules apply for wides, no-balls and free-hits.
  • Each bowling team has the use of one new ball for their full 12 overs which is used for both opponents.

(Note: These rules are only for 36 over format. In the 90-over format, everything adds up. Two halves of 45 overs each. Every team bats a total of 30 overs – 15 overs in each half. Bowlers are allowed a total of six overs.)

How three teams get to play and determining the winner:

Each half contains 18 overs – with every team batting for six overs each. Each team will have a go at one and other at least once in the game.

For Example – Suppose team A faces team B in the first half (six overs) of the game, then in the second half (second six overs), they will face team C. This applies for the other two teams as well. Team B will face team A and C in different halves and the same goes for team C who will face team A and B in different halves.

The determination of winner is easy. The team which have scored the maximum runs will win gold second will get Silver; and third Bronze. If 2 teams tie with most runs, super overs decide Gold; if all 3 teams tie, all get Gold; and, in a tie for second, Silver is shared.

Playing conditions:

“First of all it will be an empty stadium, we’re looking at the minimum number of people being there for the event to happen and be broadcast, which is about 200. The players will get in three days before and be kept in a sanitised eco-system. In the stadium, everyone will wear masks and doors will be kept open along with other safety measures,” said the CSA’s chief medical officer, Dr Shuaib Manjra. 

AB De Villiers’ and Graeme Smith’s reaction:

It is a fun format. It’s going to be fun running around. You’ll get the same feeling like you play in a backyard game with your brothers and friends. I will have to think on my feet. As a captain, you will need to adapt and it’s going to be more about limiting the damage,” De Villiers said in a 3TC tweet.

Graeme Smith quoted, “It’s been quite some time since the South African public and fans of cricket worldwide have been able to consume the game we all love. I know that the players are itching to get back into action as well, which is why we as CSA are so excited about the Solidarity Cup. It’s a thrilling new format and a match that is working towards a greater good. We are proud to partner with 3TeamCricket on this project.”

Well, this is going to be an interesting format. Let’s wait for 27th of June.

Thanks, guys for visiting. Stay Tuned for latest updates. CRICKET FOR LIFE!!

IPL 2020: RCB vs DC, Predicted XIs of both teams and top fantasy players.
This will be one of the most fascinating match; in the Incredible Premier League. Both the teams come to game with 6 points each in four matches. Today, the team which will win will sit at …
IPL 2020: RR vs KKR, Predicted XI and Top fantasy players.
The 12th match of Indian Premier League is an interesting one. Its between Rajasthan Royals; the only undefeated team in IPL so far versus Kolkata Knight Riders, which have won one game and lost one. This …
IPL 2020, CSK VS RR: What went wrong for Chennai Super Kings.
Last night; Rajasthan Royals won the match by 16 runs against Chennai Super Kings. If you've just saw the scorecard then; you might think that it was a close encounter. But in reality it was not. …
IPL 2020: Rayudu and Du Plessis lead CSK to win.
The first match of IPL 2020 is won by Chennai Super Kings. After 4 losses CSK got their revenge by winning this game. The stars for Chennai in this match were Ambati Rayudu who scored 71 …
Death-over batting can haunt RCB: Aakash Chopra.
As the IPL is around the corner, commentator Aakash Chopra did a swot-analysis of the Royal Challengers Bangalore. He said there are clearly some weaknesses visible in the RCB squad. He gave justification to it by …
IPL 2020: 3 players who can replace Suresh Raina in CSK.
Ever since CSK's Raina had pulle dout of IPL; speculations continue about his replacement. Though it is for sure that finding Raina's replacement will not be a cakewalk for Super Kings; but they will certainly try …
IPL news: Harbhajan Singh has pulled out of IPL 2020.
The veteran Indian spinner, Harbhajan Singh becomes the second person after Suresh Raina to pull out of IPL 2020. He said he pulled out due to 'personal reasons'. "Dear Friends I will not be playing IPL …

6 thoughts on “Know about a new format in Cricket: 3 team cricket (3TC).”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *